Why is honesty rare?

        My friends tell me that I always “Keep it real”. This notion of me being the girl who tells you the truth has given me the stigma of being “Chill as fuck” and “Funny as hell”. These statements are of course not a problem whatsoever. But, whenever people appreciate my honesty, I think about my mother. My mother is the epitome of honesty…I think she “keeps it real” WAY more than I do. She will tell me things that I do not want to hear, but of course have to hear in order to better myself. This upbringing by my mother is of course why I have my personality and my sense of honesty. Of course I have no problem with people appreciating my sense of truth, but I am quite confused as to why honesty is a rare delicacy in the world.

       Why would I ever want to “keep it fake” or allow people to believe things that are not truthful? If my friend did something wrong, I will tell her. If I messed up, I will eventually come to terms that I made a mistake and move on. No more of this fake bullshit about being nice and shielding people’s feelings. I do believe there is a line between honesty and malice, but if the intentions are pure, that line should never be crossed. I would rather someone come to me and say, “I do not like you, but I will respect you” then be in my face everyday smiling like we are the best of friends. I like honesty. It is intelligent, kind, sexy, and beautiful.  I want my honesty to be everyone’s honesty. It can be as simple as telling someone they look beautiful or telling them that toilet paper is stuck to their shoes. It does not take a lot out of you to tell the truth. I always remember my mother saying, “It is harder to lie, because once you lie you have to remember the lie and then lie on top of that lie. By the time you finish you have to remember twenty or more lies”. Moms are truly always right. 

Seriously just tell the truth. I love that people love my honesty, but in a world where technological communication is expanding and physical communication is decreasing, I want everyone to speak truthfully. It is easy…just try it.

 

                              

One thought on “Why is honesty rare?

Leave a Reply

