I Like the NBA Better Than the WNBA

Image

 

        Basketball is actually a cool sport, along with soccer, tennis, and squash. Yes, I said squash. Give squash a chance people, it is actually cooler than tennis. Of course I played squash so I am a bit bias. Sorry, personal plug in! Anyway back to the subject: Basketball.

Look, I am not going to lie and say that I know every professional team and that I know everything about basketball. I mean most cities have a team, right? LOL…Just Kidding! All I really care about are three teams (ordered by importance): The New York Knicks, Boston Celtics, and Los Angeles Lakers. Those are the three teams that I like and that I support, unless of course the New York Knicks are playing either of the two latter teams. The NBA is cool to me and yes I enjoy watching games.

That being said, I do not know one WNBA team. I feel like I should be ashamed, but I am not. The truth is, I do not enjoy watching women’s professional basketball games. They are slower and just boring! I am not saying that women cannot throw down when it comes to basketball, I just do not find it exciting. I go to college and if given the option I would go to a men’s basketball game before I went to women’s basketball game. I work with athletics and although it is not advertised, more work is put into the men’s basketball games.

I do not think I am any less of a woman for enjoying men’s games over women’s games, I am just telling the truth. The truth is that we as a society have a lot of double standards for gender identification. As a woman, sometimes I cannot carry that heavy object without some help, and sometimes I can. Also, I would love for a guy to pay for the date and yes I think some things should be left up to men. As women we are responsible for bringing life into the world. That is a big freaking deal!!!! Men should pick up some other things in life. Gender ideals should be decided by individual situations.

So I am sorry if the fact that I like watching men’s basketball over women’s basketball takes away my feminist card, but I am not sorry for the way I feel. I like watching men’s basketball because it is fast, exciting, fun, and has men! That is the honest truth…I get to watch an exciting sport with (some) attractive men. 

P.S: To make you radical feminists feel better: I enjoy women’s squash more than men’s squash.

 

Leave a Reply

