Being 101 (Can we really be the exception?)

Image

 

My favorite song from Alicia Keys’s new album, Girl On Fire is the song “101.”

This strong ballad has a beautiful piano backdrop. I love songs that are gut wrenching and Alicia does it with this song. The first time I listened to the song I thought it was just a love song. When I listened again I realized the message behind the song. Alicia Keys is a woman who is in a relationship with a man who is a known womanizer and has screwed over (mentally and physically) a 100 women before her. Obviously it is not a literal number, but Alicia is saying that she could be the 101th girl that changes everything for this man.

To be simple: she could be the exception.

The exception to a man’s rule is what most women want to be. The woman that changes a man and makes him think: “I think it is time to settle down with her.” Now Alicia realizes that she is the exception because she sees his actions towards her and knows her power with this man.

The problem with this “exception idea” is that some women want to be the exception so badly that they do not realize they are the rule. Everyone just needs to watch “He’s Just Not That Into You” to understand what I am saying. I think if you are being yourself in a relationship…the man should realize you are the exception before you do. I mean if I was the guy I would want to label my girl the exception instead of having some girl I am messing with label herself the exception when she is clearly not. 

The same thing applies for women as well, there is just that one man that makes you rethink all of your ideals. Now I cannot personally tell you how that feels, because it has not happened for me. I am still pretty firm on my ideals and plans for the future relationship wise. Right now I do not even know if I want to get married, but maybe someone will make me rethink that question.

Trying to be the exception is hard work. Being the exception is easy. Remember that people.

Listen to Alicia Keys’s song “101”

Leave a Reply

