Idolize

Below is a poem I wrote for black women and women in general. Enjoy!

Idolize

Idolize. Idolize her. Put her in a picture frame in your house. Place her on pedestal that we all long to reach. Show her that beauty has no standard. And that love is colorless. Tell her that everything about her is unique. Tell her that no other person can achieve her. Idolize her. Idolize her. No more roundtable discussions about Why oh Why oh Why Is she not idolized? No more table discussions about sometimes when the sun comes out she won’t go outside. No more roundtable discussions about why it sometimes hurts that she is not idolized. NO! No I am tired, I am tired of the pity. I am tired of the constant scars placed on top of her. I want her to be idolized. For once the pedestal has her on it and she is not clawing for it! I want her to be on it. I want there to be multiple pedestals. I want every single girl on a pedestal. Idolize her. For her woolly hair is not a sin. Please. Idolize her. No more roundtable discussions about what the others are doing. No more roundtable discussions about Why oh Why oh Why can we not achieve it? Idolize her. For her multitude skin should not be frowned upon. Idolize her. Idolize everyone. No longer will she be on the bottom of the shoe. No longer will she be the one pushing the weight of the world. No longer will she do that!

For I want her to be idolized. For I am her. And she is you. And we are they.

Idolize her. For centuries and even to this minute. The pity has got to stop. Idolize her. Because I am tired of talking about why she is at the

Bottom.

Leave a Reply

