7, 8, 9, 10…Or Cry

Image

 

I know I have not posted anything in a while…but I have been in transition from school to home. Anyway while going to visit a friend this week, we spoke about the rating system.

The rating system is a scale of numbers from 1-10 and the goal is to be on the higher end of the spectrum.  If you are on the higher end, you are more pleasing to the eye. This system is actually inaccurate in every way possible seeing as I could be a 5 in one person’s opinion and a 9 in another opinion. It’s just a simple way to objectify women and men. 

But why do we so readily accept this objectification? Every girl wants to be on the higher end and are devastated if they hear they are on the lower end. What is even worse is the fact that a person could misinterpret their rating. This system is soooo inaccurate. My friend and I debated for 20 minutes if a 6 was bad or not. I said I thought a 6 was good…. I used basic math and if you are above the half way mark, you are good to me. My friend believed 7 and up was what one should strive for.

But no matter what a person does, they will never be good enough…to at least one person. No matter how many times we hear “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder” we still tend to ignore it. It is human to want to be beautiful, but a number should not hold that power.

Seriously there is always someone who looks better than you and worse than you. That is life and, I am not going to cry if I am a 5 in someone’s eyes. Because at the end of the day, I don’t care if the boy who rang up my groceries said I am a 5. Who is he to me??? 

The only numbers we should be worried about are the numbers that help us survive= MONEY. I guess time matters too.

We already have to worry about the institutional system put on us by society, we have no time to worry about a rating system that could be easily ignore.

Plus having self-esteem blows this rating system right out the water.

Leave a Reply

